Home > Hardware and Software > What a cluster…

What a cluster…

May 15, 2006

Okay, I don't really like posting technical articles on here… I mean, I spend my day doing this crap. However, after a day of kicking myself for changing the IP schema of the cluster servers and nodes, I found a very, very undocumented glitch.

If you change the IP addresses of your private network, you're screwed!

The solution? Well, TN Article 266247 put me on the right path.

You have to manually update the registry keys under HKLM\Cluster\NetworkInterfaces\{GUID for Private} and \Networks\{GUID for Private} to the new IP schema… then you'll be able to open the Cluster Administrator again.

It makes sense… but there should be big flashing lights.😉

Thanks Microsoft, we love you. NOT.

Categories: Hardware and Software
