Home > Hardware and Software > Vista RC 1 and Cisco WebVPN Applicance

Vista RC 1 and Cisco WebVPN Applicance

September 18, 2006

While I haven’t had time to do a lot of research on it yet, it appears the ActiveX control that spawns the secure SSL connection on WebVPN applicances is being blocked in Vista RC1 by Internet Explorer 7.  I’ll do further testing (aka: Google) and report back on here.  Or, anyone know the quick fix? ;)  I’m assuming that either the control is looking at something in the OS specific or is being blocked by another safety protocol–It works just fine on IE7 in XP Pro.

I’m at ends with not being able to work at home–I really am… I swear?  (Is my boss reading this?)  I REALLY miss being able to work off the clock and from home, yes sir!

*grin*

Categories: Hardware and Software
  1. Joachim Bergling
    September 19, 2006 at 6:14 am

    Dear David,

    I really have the same problem with Vista and Cisco WebVPN and haven’t been able to solve the problem.
    Please let me know if you get any further with this as once you installed Vista you don’t wanna go back to XP…

    Thanks!

    Joachim

  2. September 22, 2006 at 10:38 pm

    Nothing yet.😦 It appears the ActiveX control that launches looks at either a) a specific version of Windows (5.0 or 5.1) or b) something in UAC or Vista is blocking it.

  3. Joachim Bergling
    September 25, 2006 at 12:20 am

    Upgraded to build 5728 last night but the CISCO webvpn does still not work…

  4. September 25, 2006 at 6:04 am

    I verified, again, that IE7 doesn’t seem to be the issue (at least IE7 RC1 for Windows XP SP2). Anyone know of a way to spoof the Windows version number? I’m starting to think the ActiveX control is keying in on the fact that this is version 6.0.XXXX, not 5.0 or 5.1. Apparently, per our networking staff, the concentrator doesn’t allow 9X/ME or non-Windows traffic either.

  5. Tracy
    May 26, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I agree – not IE7 – can connect to the clientless VPN on ASA5510 but when I try to initiate an ActiveX Remote Desktop – I get the flash screen like it will open but it pops right back to the RDP startup screen. I too am very frustrated as I can’t work from home using the secure connection. I can connect just fine to a public RDP site but that is not as secure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
