Home > Hardware and Software > Wiki for Project Management?

Wiki for Project Management?

October 5, 2006

Just curious how many out there are using or have considered using Wikis for project management and documentation purposes.  We use (*cough*some of us*cough*) SharePoint and Project for tasking, basic resource assignment, and statistical review; however, managing documentation and collaboration on documents, even through it’s SharePoint’s coup de grace, is a bit cumbersome.  I’ve read a few rumors on the blogs of organizations moving to Wiki as a better form of documented and change-controled documentation management.

Why the sudden curiousity?  With all things aside, I’m attempting to develop some sort of sembiance of a web strategy for the MIS Department as a whole.  Something that will involve the input and review of dozens of people–something I don’t really want to do via shared documents or SharePoint (one strategy is for our user-base to LEARN SharePoint. Heh.).

Feedback?

Categories: Hardware and Software
  1. Michael
    October 6, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    The engineering department here has been – half-heartedly – using a Wiki to record ideas for future product development. But it seems to be the kind of thing that people get all excited about, initial things are posted, and then it just lies there and dies. Unless someone is actively updating it and keeping other people interested in using it, I’m not sure that it really helps.

    I don’t think it’s useful for Project Management (at least I haven’t heard anyone suggest using it for that) and I’m not even sure it will be much use for documentation: the fact is, you still have to get people to write the damn stuff and I don’t know that a Wiki really encourages people to do it in a coherent manner. Maybe if someone went through and set up all the subject areas and then assigned to individuals that they have to do it…

  2. October 13, 2006 at 12:26 pm

    I don’t think it scales particularly well for project management, but Trac’s integration of a wiki is simple and elegant.

  3. October 13, 2006 at 1:01 pm

    I agree with everyone so far. My research the past few weeks has pointed that it’s not exactly the greatest PM tool, but, something that we lack in our environment, it is a pretty powerful shared documentation/collaboration solution.

    I’ll check out Trac. The bug tracking solution I currently use is homegrown and am always looking for a more polished solution. Thanks😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
