Home > Insanity! > Caution: Road Construction Ahead

Caution: Road Construction Ahead

November 5, 2006

<rant>

At one point, it was considered fact that we had more miles of road construction in and around our city than anywhere in the United States.  I’ve searched for quite a while to find proof of this, but can’t… so we’ll just say it’s a darn good opinion.

Currently, almost every major highway, somewhere around the city, is traffic-slowing under construction.  What’s worse?  It’s getting close to home.  The road that leads out of our suburb to the north is closed to one-lane traffic.  The road that leads out to the west is closed and requires cutting to the north… often difficult when it’s one-lane.  To the south, the only cross-road takes you almost 15 miles out of the way.

What worse?  The east-west road they’re working on is being expanded to 4 lanes.  Cool beans.  We have a lot of farm equipment out here and getting stuck behind a 15mph combine on a 55mph road is never fun.  The down side?  According to the local papers (The Reporter doesn’t have an online version *cry*), because the expansion has curbs, the road will drop from 55mph to 45mph.  A 15-20 (currently) drive… now dropped down to 45mph.  What.. the.. heck?!  The reasoning?  If you hit a curb over 45mph, it could damage your car or put you into personal risk.  Gah, if I hit my car at 10 against a curb, it’ll tear up the body of my car and put anyone around me into personal risk when I get pissed.

</rant>

Categories: Insanity!
  1. Spawny
    November 13, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    Haha. I think CO has more roads under construction than KS has in existence. They finished T-Rex (I-25 thru Denver)ahead of schedule & under budget – maybe they will do the same on Kellogg?? LOL

  2. November 14, 2006 at 6:33 am

    Hah! Maybe. I remember the I-25 being under construction between Springs and Denver LAST time I was there… and that’s been years ago.

  3. Spawny
    November 14, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    Now it’s going through the Springs, but it will be great when they finish. Just getting to Parker can be a struggle some days. You can’t believe how much it has changed – just in the 2 yrs I’ve been here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
