Home > Hardware and Software > Cisco WebVPN & IE 7 Client Released

Cisco WebVPN & IE 7 Client Released

November 22, 2006

Our network folks picked up Cisco’s IE 7 client for WebVPN and IE 7 and have applied it to the VPN concentrators…

 Tests:

  • Windows XP + IE 6.0 SP2 Installed == Works like a champ. 
  • Windows XP + IE 7.0 Installed == Works like a champ.
  • Windows Vista + IE 7.0 Bundled == Fails; cannot detect browser version.

It looks like we’re getting closer… I’ll pass more along as we test here and find information on the web.

Categories: Hardware and Software
  1. Joachim
    January 22, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Any news on this…?
    Really like to get Vista rolling but until I can get webvpn to work that will have to wait…

    Cheers!

  2. January 22, 2007 at 10:14 am

    Joachim-

    As far as I know, the Vista OS client profile for the VPN concentrators has yet to be released. I’ll hunt around and see if I can find an ETA on it. Unfortunately, at this time, we’ve rolled out with Vista being a non-supported OS. Thankfully, MSFT pushed back the release of Vista so there are very few actual non-technical clients to contend with.

  3. Joachim
    January 23, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Thanks David!
    When you get an ETA could you drop me an email and let me know?
    jb(at)melbourneitcbs.com

    Cheers!

    Joachim

  4. Ryan
    January 30, 2007 at 1:55 am

    I guess i should have looked into this before i upgraded my home pc to Vista. I can not connect to our VPN. Any update on this yet whether it be a day,week,month, never? Thanks…

  5. January 30, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    From what I’ve gotten from our networking staff, April 07 appears to be the USA launch date.

  6. Ryan
    January 30, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Ouch a long way out thats sucks. O well I guess i have no choice but to way it out. Thanks

  7. Ryan
    July 2, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Any updates on this? I am still forced to use my xp machine because i require vpn for work. Any news or updates would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  8. July 3, 2007 at 5:37 am

    Apparently, yes. I just asked and our network staff will be applying the update this weekend that supports Vista as a host. I’ll double check to see today what version we have, but searching Cisco’s web site, I see that the ASA 5xxx series has a new version as of 29 June. It’s release notes:

    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/prod_release_note09186a00808045d1.html

    Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client
    The Cisco AnyConnect VPN client is also supported in this release. It works with the adaptive security appliance to connect remote users running Microsoft Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 2000, Linux, or Macintosh OS X with the benefits of a Cisco SSL VPN client, and supports applications and functions unavailable to a clientless, browser-based SSL VPN connection. For more information, see the Release Notes for Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client, Version 2.0.

    As I said, I’ll double check to make sure I’m not miserading (or dreaming) and that the patches they’re applying match what I just posted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
