Home > .net 2.0, Visual Studio 2005 > Visual Studio 2005 SP1 & Lunch

Visual Studio 2005 SP1 & Lunch

December 19, 2006

As most have reported, SP1 for Visual Studio 2005 (Team and Express editions) was released late last week.  I managed to download it–all freaking 431.7MB of it–and start the install this morning.  I must say, I’m quite impressed.  I was fearing what Bil Simser [“The install that lasted a lifetime“] experienced; however, was shocked to see it completed (and successful) after about 15 minutes. 

The upgrade included updating VB, C#, C++, J#, and VWD.  In addition, ActiveReports 2.0 and 3.0, ReSharper 2.5, the various .NET 3.0 extentions I had installed, SourceSafe 2005, and SQL Analysis Services seem unscathed by the upgrade.

As with any upgrade, remember to check out the harrowing release notes.  From the looks of it, I must have been sitting in the proper position at the proper time of day when the Sun was aligned with some star in a distant galaxy… to not have any of the 10 pages of potential snafus.

I think I’m going to go Ghost my system now…

But before, a note to those who have never tried it.  Has a tasty lunch catered by Dell today… from Camile’s Sidewalk Cafe.  I apparently do not get out enough as I had never even heard of it… even though they are near Best Buy (I probably have tunnel vision…).  A half-dozen different kinds of wraps, tortila chips, salsa, BIG cookies, and drinks.  I’m a happy coder now.  *burp*

