Home > Hardware and Software, SQL > VS2005, SQL Express, and the “unexpected value” Install Error

VS2005, SQL Express, and the “unexpected value” Install Error

February 8, 2007

I ended up reinstalling my box this morning after yet another botched attempt at upgrading my Precision 670 to Vista.  Damn you, you cursed SATA raid controller.  Anyway, after reinstalling XP and enjoying the love of a fresh, clean desktop… I attempted to install my reason to work—Visual Studio 2005.

As it was installing SQL Express, someone decided to breath heavy and blew the circuit for our area… total darkness abound.  Yeah, these are the days I miss my laptop (and have already put in asking for a UPS ).

Booting back up, I attempted to repair and noticed it didn’t see SQL Server installed at all.  Cool… reinstall. 

Failure.

The error that the install log returned was:

“Component Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition x86 returned an unexpected value.”

Sweet, a very explict, intuitive response that will help any number of programmers find their way to success.

Thankfully, you can browse to installation_source\vs\wuc\SSE and run SQLEXPR32.exe manually.  The error it returned was a bit more helpful.

It told me that “C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1” already existed and to remove it before proceeding.  I renamed it to _MSSQL.1 (I don’t tend to just delete things), and clicked Retry and it worked like a charm.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Hardware and Software, SQL
  1. phoenix
    June 1, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Thanks, this one really helped me🙂

  2. Alexey
    June 25, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    GREAT!!!!!!! It’s saved me to!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
