Home > Dell, Gaming, Hardware and Software, Windows Vista > MCE 2005 vs. Vista on the new PC?

MCE 2005 vs. Vista on the new PC?

February 20, 2007

I ordered up a new Dell (finally!) and have spent a while researching the claims of Vista and NVidia cards going to crap.  My ATI x850 works like a champ under Vista; however, many are claiming that NVidia’s driver base is still a bit flaky–even on Microsoft’s own Channel 9.  So, I checked out the latest driver release notes.  v100.65 was released yesterday:

 http://us.download.nvidia.com/Windows/100.65/100.65_ForceWare_Release_Notes.pdf

Now, not to be a naysayer, but the fact that there was.. two sentences of ‘fixes’ and almost three pages of ‘limitations’ and ‘not quite working yets’ is a bit concerning.

Is there anyone out there running a 8800GTX in SLI mode and also playing games, like EQ2, that could give any point of reference regarding performance and stability?  While I love Vista, I have no qualms sticking with MCE2005 if it means a more stable system.🙂

  1. Stephen
    August 8, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I just bought a Dell PC with dual 8800GTX in SLI. In EQ2 I am afraid it is terrible. I disabled SLI mode and it actaually runs faster on one card. I don’t know if it’s EQ2 or Vista or both. Either way, it makes me want to return my Dell computer.
    I tried Doom3 with SLI and it eats it alive, I will get a FPS off that later.

    Here are the rest of the specs just so you have someting to compare….

    Intel Core2 Extreme processor X6800 (3.20GHz, Factory Overclocked) w/Quad Core Technology and 4MB cache
    2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
    Dual 768MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTX
    WD, Raptor 160GB NCQ 10K SATA Hard Drive w/16MB DataBurst Cache
    Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, English
    16X DVD+R/RW CD-RW Combination Drive
    X-Fi PCI Sound Card

  2. August 8, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Yeah, those are similar specs to my 710 H2C except I’m running 64-bit and 4GB of RAM.

    Check out a few of the posts under EverQuest2 and Gaming here on the blog… Vista seems to run EQ2 well… but tweaks are required.

    Also, check today’s post (https://tiredblogger.wordpress.com/2007/08/08/pre-sp-1-vista-performance-patches-go-goldesque/) and the new MSFT Vista patches for gaming performance… they went a long way to fix some issues I had with FFXI, I haven’t logged in EQ2 yet to test that performance.

  3. Stephen
    August 8, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    I’ll have to check them out when I get home. Let me know if you get a chance to log into EQ2. This was my first desktop that I actually bought, I always build them. I also have a Dell XPS laptop that will be 2 years old in November…it runs EQ2 rather well. The new desktop is actually slower than it with SLI enabled.
    I’ve never used any MSFT patches, in fact I had never heard of them until now.
    I priced the H20’s, but i just couldnt bring myself to spend 900.00 more for 2GB more ram and the liquid cooling.:-/

  4. August 8, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    I pick up Dell’s since I get the school employee’s discount *grin*… prior, yeah, I had always self-built. I have a Dell XPS 710 laptop too and it runs EQ2 very well.

    I have SLI disabled and I use one video card for one monitor (monitor #1 jack) and one for the other (monitor #3 jack)… giving each monitor a dedicated card. I couldn’t get ANY performance out of the 8800’s in Vista–but I am not sure if that’s nVidia’s fault, Vista’s fault, or the Dell board.

    There wasn’t a real delta between the standard and the H2C for educators… and it’s dead quiet and runs almost cold.

    I’ll hit up EQ2 tonight and post back what I find.🙂

  5. September 23, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Take a look at my post here — http://www.eq2flames.com/tech-support-faq-questions/11338-crappy-eq2-framerates-any-ideas-why.html . I’m seeing significantly better framerates under XP than under vista with an 8800 GTX.

  6. September 24, 2007 at 5:33 am

    Since that post in February, I’ve been steadily updating as NVidia comes out with new drivers. I still haven’t reenabled SLI since that still seems touchy under Vista, but non-SLI, I’m getting the full 30fps in FFXI (it’s capped in FFXI because of PS2’s…) and almost zero lag, even in the busiest of zones in EQ2.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
