Home > Gaming, Windows Vista > Lord of the Rings: Online: Installing on Vista

Lord of the Rings: Online: Installing on Vista

May 7, 2007

I decided, at the prompting of a coworker, to try out Lord of the Rings: Online (LOTRO) to see how it faired to games like EQ2.  So far, it’s pretty fun.  As a minstrel, my little halfling sure shouts a lot (which is kinda annoying).

I did have a gotcha on installing.  It never created a Start Menu or desktop shortcut.  Even after rerunning setup “as administrator”.

So, for those wondering how to create a shortcut, run:

“%YOUR PROGRAMFILES DIR%\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online\TurbineLauncher.exe”

So, for me, it’s:

“C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online\TurbineLauncher.exe”

Beyond that, for some odd reason, it constantly wants to start up Media Center when I close the game.  Odd.

Categories: Gaming, Windows Vista
  1. Clayton
    May 7, 2007 at 8:11 am

    So are you jumping eq2 ship or are you playing both? How are the graphics? What are the classes/races? And what is the monthly price?

  2. May 7, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Just trying it. It’s nothing like EQ2… far, FAR more relaxed and slower paced. Combat is ala FFXI with the exception you can jump like in EQ2. Graphics are “OK”… the landscape is beautiful, but character detail is still sketchy. They try to make everyone look ‘real’ and, in that attempt, everyone looks fake. EQ2 has some ‘cartoony’ feel to it, but characters look percise and expertly drawn.

    Races are the same as the movie: Man, Halfling, Elf, and Dwarf. Each are limited to what class they can play. I’m dinking around with a Halfling mistriel (healer/dps/ehh… I sing stuff) and a Man Champion (think Zerker from EQ2). I wanted to be an Elf Captain, but only the race of Man (which just seems odd… I feel like Tarzan.. “I am MAN!”) can be Captains.

    No idea on cost, I assume it’s the same… I’m using a buddy key for 10 days. (^_^).

  3. Average Gamer
    June 10, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    If you install LOTRO on Windows Vista it adds a link in the games section! DOH!

  4. June 10, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Hah, you know, I never even looked there. Cool beans.

  5. Jason
    August 1, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I was wondering…
    I have an error when i try to run it. It says I need V1.1.4322 >NET Framework when I have >NET Framework 3.0
    Can anyone help me?

    Jason

  6. August 1, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    If you go into %SYSTEMROOT%\Microsoft.Net\Framework do you see the 1.1.4322 folder in there? v3.0 is an “addon” (the presentation, workflow, and communication foundations) to 2.0… while I don’t know why it would want 1.1, make sure you have it.

    You’ll notice that 1.0, 1.1, 2.0, 3.0 and 3.5 if you have it all exist and do not overwrite each other–which allows an application to “target” a specific framework.

    If you need 1.1, you can get it :

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=262D25E3-F589-4842-8157-034D1E7CF3A3&displaylang=en
    🙂

  7. Jason
    August 1, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    Thank you so much it finally runs!!!!!!!!
    Hopefully I wont have any problems in the future.

    Jason

  8. Philip Lau
    November 22, 2007 at 4:32 am

    I just stumbled across your blog page.

    Recently installed LOTRO for windows VISTA, including the patches up to November 2007. Ran ok first time.

    But then a few days later it failed to start when i selected Vanyar and the other sites. It comes up with a error code 202. I also notice i do not have the option of runing the link, in the games section, as ‘run as administrator’.

    Does this imply i need to run the program in admin mode. Is LOTRO trying to modify a file?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    thanks,

    philip

  9. Kevin
    September 10, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Did anyone figure out why it constantly wants to start Media Center, I’m having the same issue, it’s annoying!
    Kevin

  10. bob
    December 29, 2008 at 9:16 am

    i wont let me install v1.1

  11. brandon
    January 30, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Every time i try to install v1 of .NET it says it is not supported in a 64-bit XP system how do i get it now? and i have VISTA

  12. Cote
    May 25, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Can not get to run with vista .. get error code 122 .. HELP

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
