Home > Google, Microsoft, Windows Vista > Google joins the “let’s sue Microsoft!” party!

Google joins the “let’s sue Microsoft!” party!

June 11, 2007

At first, when I saw the headline, I couldn’t quite grasp what business a search provider could have with suing a client/operating system maker.  Last I checked, Google kicked LiveSearch’s butt.  Well, it appears it has to do with their Desktop Search application.

Google’s allegations are under review by the Justice Department and state attorneys general who were parties to a consent decree that resolved the US government’s antitrust case against Microsoft in 2002.

Microsoft rejected Google’s allegation that the Vista desktop search violates the settlement.

“We don’t believe that this feature is covered by the consent decree or that it raises any antitrust issues,” Brad Smith, Microsoft’s general counsel, was quoted as saying.

A report on the latest allegations to the Washington federal court overseeing the case is due later this month and the judge, Colleen Kollar-Kotelly, “has shown frustration over Microsoft’s compliance with the settlement,” the Journal noted.

Google files antitrust complaints against Microsoft: report – Yahoo! News.

Now, I have to admit.  In Vista, I have the “instant” search turned off and use the search bar primarly as a run bar (you can type cmd, regedit, iexplore, outlook, whatever and it runs… neat stuff). I don’t (often) misplace my files as they’re on file servers… and I don’t really store anything on my local machine, even my email, which I use Google Mail (gmail) for—I have no need to constantly parse my hard drives for files.

But, if I WANT to, I could simply disable it using the Control Panel and install Google’s.  What’s so “blocking” about that?  Did I miss something or what?  When I install Vista, does it ask me if I want to install, feature-by-feature, every aspect of the operating system from a 3rd party?  Nope… thank God.  But, if I’m smart enough (read: an elementary school kid’s level of computer savvy), I can install those features I’m looking for if I’m not pleased with Microsoft’s version.

What’s next?  Are we going to sue Microsoft because we want to replace the Spell Check tool in Office and there isn’t an easy way to do it?

 

  1. arthur m.
    June 13, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Microsoft has a long lasting history of not fighting fair, BUT recently Google passed Microsoft by light years. If there is one company thats more oriented towards world dominance – microsoft has lost its place to Google. They rip people off with their Google ad service (just Google for it :)) they buy out anyone who would offer any addition to data / statistics collection services so they can place their ads better. And they file law suits against companies like Microsoft because they are among the very few refusing to play to Google’s tune…

    thats why i have completely switched to live.com for searching (which i find to be actually better then Google in the end of the day) and about to close off my gmail account.

  2. Kwood
    May 15, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Are you kidding me, live can’t even perform a easy map lookup without getting confused.

  3. May 15, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    @Kwood-

    The ONLY cool thing about the Live Maps is the Bird’s Eye View. The air images are newer and it’s pretty click. As far as logic mapping and such, Live is just so much more painful to use than Google Maps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
