Home > .net 2.0, SQL, Visual Studio 2005 > Hosting Provider — Your suggestions?

Hosting Provider — Your suggestions?

June 14, 2007

I’ve had the outs with WebHost4Life on providing hosting for the prototype sites that I create (and… the photo sites… we’ll see how long the photos remain working on the site… so I apologize in advance for that!).

So, who does everyone use?  I’ve checked out Gate.com, Lunarpages.com, and discountasp.net, but can’t find one that meets what I’m looking for…

  • Shared server is OK
  • 1–5GB of web space
  • SQL Server 2005 support; multiple databases, 500MB+
  • AJAX 1.0, .NET 3.0 support (3.5 beta 1 would be awesome)
  • One FTP account, at least.
  • Ability to publish from VS2005/Orcas a plus, but not required… I can copy files with the best of them

I don’t need 25,000 email accounts, all the components under the sun (I provide my own), or support for any other languages besides .NET…

I’m open to any suggestions or even alternatives.  I post 99% of my “content” here on WordPress, but still need a spot for prototyping and a testing ground for sites I do for friends, family, and potential clients—without spending a paycheck to get it. *grin*

 [update: 6/15: 12:08pm – Lunarpages.com seems like a decent match after talking to them with one exception—they don’t support AJAX.  Gate.com, the more I read, has HORRID reviews regarding services and random downtimes.   Back to the drawing boards.]

 [update: 6/15: 2:37pm – *sigh* As much as WebHost4Life really irks me off, no one seems to have a solution to match the features they offer for the price, so it looks like back to them for another year and keep looking.]

Tags: , , ,

  1. jayaic
    June 15, 2007 at 8:34 am

    I know in the past I’ve used discountasp.net and I think they would meet all your requirements. Kinda curious as to what you saw that made you decide against them.

  2. June 15, 2007 at 8:42 am

    discountasp.net would match what I’m looking for, but it’s too pricy for a college student/education employee… heh.

    http://www.discountasp.net/features.aspx

    Taking out the first year discount of 30$, it’s 120$ per year for the basic web hosting. To add in subdomain support (blog.tiredstudent.com / photos.tiredstudent.com, etc), it’s an additional 60$ per year. For MS SQL 2005 hosting and 300 MB of space, it’s an additional 120$ per year.

    That totals out at 400$ per year, which is just something I can’t afford right now–especially for a site that, for the most part, simply holds prototypes of projects that I use for work or for friends and I don’t get paid for…

    I’ve got a couple calls to make to gate.com and lunarpages.com, but it appears, for me, it’s down to them, but neither have email addresses–you have to CALL them. GRRR.

  3. Fritz Laurel
    June 16, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    I use crystaltech.com.

    They’re out of Phoenix, AZ and seem to have the best combination of 1) control panel and 2) support. They might not be the cheapest guys in town, but price was a distant third on my criteria list after being burned by other unscrupulous hosting companies .

    They offer a developer account for as low as $2.95/mo, but I don’t think they offer .NET 3.x yet. IIWY, I’d shoot them an email or call and ask about 3.x. They might have a limited-use box they’ll let you on w/ a dev acct.

    Cheers,
    FL

  4. June 16, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Yeah, I actually came across them (out of everyone I found) and really liked their asp.net 2.0 plan. They support .net 2.0 and AJAX, but to get database support (well, anything except mySql), it requires the advance plan at 17.00/mo. I liked what I saw and have pegged them on del.icio.us for the future, but it’s a bit out of my price range right now…
    The searching has actually made being a .NET developer a bit hassled. If I wanted the latest RoR (ruby on rails) support, I could go almost anywhere… and get dirt cheap hosting and almost any open source feature… but getting .NET 2.0 (I was amazed at how many still do not support 2.0 or AJAX) support is a bit of a challenge!

    While they may tick me off sometimes, webhost4life really does offer an amazing set of features for their cheap price.
    Thanks for the word of confidence to them; I’ll keep that in mind as I continue the trek to find “the perfect host”. (^_^)

  1. July 8, 2008 at 12:12 am
Comments are closed.
