Home > .net 2.0, AJAX, Visual Studio 2005, Visual Studio 2008 > AJAX 1.0 & Orcas – The pain of missing templates

AJAX 1.0 & Orcas – The pain of missing templates

July 16, 2007

I sat down over the weekend with the intention to redesign how the WebStorage (what drives the photo gallery) works and update some of the logic behind photo rendering and such.  Unfortunately, I just had Orcas loaded on my workstation, but, thankfully, Orcas supports .NET 2.0 framework projects (my host doesn’t support 3.5 yet, even on virtual directories .)

The disappointment?  Installing AJAX 1.0 doesn’t install to Orcas and getting Orcas to recognize the 1.0 System.Web.Extensions instead of the 2.0 is almost mindnumbing.  The workaround is located here on the asp.net forums : http://forums.asp.net/t/1114611.aspx

To be honest, I didn’t do it.  I didn’t hack up the assemblies just for some savings, so I tossed VS2005 along side Orcas, started up, and everything’s running great. 

So, to the AJAX, Orcas, or whichever team—I realize Orcas will support System.Web.Extensions 2.0 for the .NET 3.5 framework, but if you’re going to “fully support” .NET 2.0, PLEASE add those templates in and make it a bit easier to access multiple versions (for the Toolbox, etc) of assembly libraries.  I can think of numerous times, even after 3.5 goes RTW, that may need to dish up a .NET 2.0 + AJAX 1.0 application.

