Home > Google > Google’s Lost it’s Cookies

Google’s Lost it’s Cookies

August 17, 2007

Reading through the blogs and the notes attached to each Google “gadget,” it appears something has been happening in the background at Google and all that’s left are a few fingerprints and cookie crumbs.

As far as I understand, the gadgets use profile-specific “cookies” for authored gadgets (non-Google).  For example, things like the del.icio.us, Enhanced Bookmarks, and other cool plug-ins to the iGoogle homepage.

Well, earlier this week, something has gone astray.  I haven’t had del.icio.us bookmarks all week and today, my Enhanced Bookmarks… just vanished.  *twitch*

I like Google’s because I use gmail, google docs and really like having the translator (my workplace has 6 “official” languages, so I’m constantly translating UI elements and such) and wikipedia show up for quick reference.  I’d be a bit more inclined to MSN if I was a Hotmail user… but no.  But, on the other hand, I can’t deal with this unreliability… especially when it’s not something that I can back up.

So, I’m curious… what does everyone use for a “home page”? 

 

Categories: Google
  1. August 18, 2007 at 10:15 am

    I use PageFlakes for my homepage. I too am addicted to iGoogle because of the quick access to my analytics data and gmail but I was able to import a lot of that stuff to PageFlakes. On PageFlakes you can add an email widget for reading any POP3 mail account, so right now I’m getting both my hotmail and my Gmail on one of my pages. In addition I have a number of different “favorite link” widgets for tracking research for all of my blog articles. It’s pretty handy.

    Plus PageFlakes uses ASP.NET, which makes me warm and fuzzy just thinking about it.

  2. August 20, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Heh, I tried PageFlakes and it’s pretty cool… and then it crashed for about 3 hours and was erroring out. Bahhh. I’ll play with it a bit more, but it seems to be about the most extensible home page system that I’ve seen.

    Thanks for the info!

  3. AsbjornM
    September 1, 2007 at 5:06 am

    about:blank
    the best homepage. ever.

  4. September 1, 2007 at 9:20 am

    LOL, normally I’d agree, but then I’d just have to a) remember where the heck I am going and the URL to get there or b) have favorites–which is something I don’t always have because I constantly jump from PC to PC. Del.icio.us saves that a bit… but it’s still nice to log in, see the RSS feeds for news, my email, links to common apps, del.icio.us, etc. Simplicity aside, laziness and convenience can occassionally win out.😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
