Home > Hardware and Software, Windows Vista > Vista Client for Cisco WebVPN

Vista Client for Cisco WebVPN

September 4, 2007

Well, just as an update to the threads on the Blog.  We had a Vista client operational for the Cisco WebVPN appliance; however, there appears to be a glitch.  For those who have tried, it, it works like a champ—connects and even has a nifty client app that’s part of the control so you don’t have to go to the web site.  There’s a catch—on Vista, the split tunneling (allowing you to access your network (ala the Internet) and your VPN’s network at the same time) doesn’t work. 

It’s a snafu and issue with the client that Cisco is addressing, but nothing is resolved as of now.  We, in our organization, rolled back to the Windows 2000/XP version, though that just means I’m dragging my laptop home each night I plan to need VPN.  Ugh.

If anyone’s had any success implementing the new Vista client AND getting split tunneling to work, please post up or email me.  

  1. Vince
    December 20, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I bypassed this by installing windows 2000 in a VMWare VM until Cisco has this fixed.

    Good luck

  2. December 20, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Haha, yeah, that’s been similar to my fix–XP in VPC. It’s really an annoyance, but it works.🙂

  3. parkstreet1234
    January 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    To everyone who owns a pix. Just put it in the trash can if you run a current Microsoft OS like Vista, which has been out for a year. The only solution is to give more money to Cisco, and buy an ASA. I was told they are giving up on the bugs for the Pix firewalls, and they blamed microsoft. You may need to go to small claims court to get your money back for your PIX firewalls, and also for your time wasted on their broken promises. This time I bought an ASA, but I am not really happy about why I had to buy it. If you use TAC, which is a waste, they will just tell you to buy an ASA and get ANYCONNECT. That is what they told me when i called TAC, althought ANYCONNECT is not even for the product I purchased, (the regular Pix). Also, the newest OS, Pix 7 is not supported on the Pix. Again, they could easily support Pix 7 OS on the pix, but are really dragging their feet hoping you will get frustrated enought and go buy a new firewall. I don’t have alot of time right now, because my firewall is basically down because of TAC, so I had to buy an ASA. Next time I will not buy Cisco.

  4. Mr Nose
    January 30, 2008 at 5:55 am

    I am also missing the Split Networking / split tunneling from Anyconnect. I am truly disappointed by Cisco’s ability to NOT fix this. We have an ASA 5510.

  5. Vincent
    November 5, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Hey guys!!!

    Listen go to http://www.ncp-e.com/
    They have a VPN client that runs on 64Bit Vista and will even import the Cisco client profile.
    I have been using this and it works like a charm on my PIX 515E…….

    I have had no problem with it.

    P.S. On The sight they might have updated it but not sure…
    The first version that I downloaded gave me some problem but the support gave me the latest version and it just worked!!!!

    Enjoy,

    Vincent

  6. November 5, 2008 at 9:46 am

    @Vincent-

    Thanks! We’ve actually, since then, moved to a version of the AnyConnect WebVPN that works on Vista. I’ll have to try out this client and see how it works though.

  7. Dude
    December 1, 2008 at 4:05 am

    > on Vista, the split tunneling […] doesn’t work.

    Fixed in AnyConnect version 2.2

  8. December 1, 2008 at 7:40 am

    @Dude-

    Indeed it does; the new version is pretty slick.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
