Home > Everything Else > The serious business of a new car.

The serious business of a new car.

September 5, 2007

2008 Infiniti G37 Coupe Journey

It’s an Infiniti G37 Coupe Journey with everything you can get on it.  Vibrant red, dark leather interior, navigation, Bose sound (mmm.. max volume and ZERO distortion), XM and iPod controls built in, and even voice commands for the navigation, temperatures, and phone (oh yeah. Bluetooth for the phone).  It’s seriously sex on wheels.

At 8:30 tonight, I FINALLY (4:30 – 8:30 for paperwork, financing, all that FUN… GEEESH with my baby.  It’s not named yet… but I’ll get there.  For now, it’s simply Sexy (proper noun).  It’s a gift to myself.  Later this month is my 26th birthday; in a few months (November), I’ll finish my Masters degree, and various other things—and, heck, you only go around once.

I’ll get real pics posted up, along with some mods that I plan to do to it after I wash it… it was raining as I left the dealership.  I swear the cloud followed me home.

Now, I just have to find places to drive…πŸ˜€

[UPDATED POST: Today, 12:50 PM, back when the owner’s WIFE had taken the car and been a bit off about returning it so I could look at it… This is all taken care of; the sales guys at the dealership have been AWESOME to work with.]

<rant>

So, I’m in the market for a new car.  I know what I want, I know the specs, I know the color.  I’ve been *drooling* over one for 6 months.  “It” was released a couple weeks ago.  So, I strolled down to pick one up, or at least order one.

Order?  That’s a no go.  1250 produced, 25000 backordered.  According to the paper today, their doing well in sales—apparently so.  Apparently they’re not to interested in new orders; I couldn’t even place one yesterday, I would have to wait for a ‘window’ to open up.  4 months for a VIN, 12–18 for a delivery.

After discussion, the dealer did have one model with my specs, but a different color—Red.  There’s a catch, though… the dealership owner’s wife had it.  They would call, get it back, and let me look.  Cool.

So, nearly 24 hours later, she still has it. 

So, rule #1 of doing business—weigh doing business and SELLING the car vs. the wife.  kthx.

On a similar note, that a friend pointed out via IM… I’m sure the sales peeps are a bit pissed too.  Wife getting the car would equate to no commission for them.

</rant>

More updates to this post if and when I ever get it.  I’m looking at alternatives in the 2D coupe market (and shying away from all other dealerships in the area owned by these people) if the wife decides to not let go.

Categories: Everything Else
  1. September 5, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    When I graduated (Bachelor’s) all I got was an ’02 Civic! I have since bought a Toyota Tacoma.

    I have purchased a home and a truck in the last 3 years and I can say that buying a car is more difficult / painful than buying a house. Real estate salespeople are not NEAR as cutthroat as car salesman imho.

    Have fun with your new car (if you get it!).

  2. September 6, 2007 at 4:33 am

    Yeah, that was the odd thing. The signing for my house HAD SO MUCH LESS PAPERWORK. The financial dude was like “there’s a few things to sign”… right. There was only about 15 pieces of paper–but they each needed 2-3 signatures per piece. I either need a shorter name or a rubber stamp.πŸ™‚

    Tacomas are nice; I looked at a truck (the Tacoma and the Avalanche) and the little Ford Edge, but… ehh, I never haul anything… ever. When I do, there’s a pickup in the family that I can go theft to haul stuff. Plus, the whole hour away from work requires some good gas mileage and comfort. (^_~)

  3. September 6, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Yeah, we haul 2 dogs so the extended cabin / canopy are nice for that! It is also nice for hauling firewood.

  4. Spawny
    September 6, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Beautiful! Congratulations!
    I just bought the Nissan cousin with none of the cool electronic stuff, but I think she’s pretty awesome anyway – 2007 Altima SE 3.5L V6 (the CVT is great, especially climbing up the Rockies)
    I really wanted the Infiniti G35X, but the wages of the computer monkey didn’t quite cover it. LOL
    Have fun – you deserve it! πŸ˜‰

  5. September 6, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    @Spawny: A classmate bought his wife an Altima and said it’s a dang nice car.

    This might provide a nice roadtrip. The winding roads coming out of Denver down to Black Forest would be a nice trip when the temps level off. πŸ˜€ Driving out to Springs in the spring and summer used to be a dream in the Stratus.

  6. Spawny
    September 6, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    It’s way more fun to drive than the Sebring – especially in the hills!πŸ˜€

  7. Spawny
    September 6, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Where/when did you buy a house???

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
