Home > .net 3.0, Microsoft, Windows Server > Windows Server 2008 Release Candidate… 0?

Windows Server 2008 Release Candidate… 0?

September 26, 2007

Microsoft pushed out Windows Server 2008’s first release candidate… 0… today.  The whole zero-base is a bit odd and I haven’t found if they’re being punny.  You can download the various editions here.  Just keep with the process—the Evaluation process is kinda odd, it acts like you’re buying something; however, at the end of the process, you’ll be presented with a key and a download link.  As of this moment, the demo VHDs still appear to be Beta 3, but I’m sure that’ll change in the coming hours. 

I haven’t checked, but I’m sure these will also be released to MSDN for download as well.

With both built-in virtualization (if the lawsuit from VMWare doesn’t get it yanked before the product goes gold), IIS 7.0 (.net 3.0/3.5, etc), and built-in PowerShell, I’m really looking forward to this new server build.  What I’ve seen and dinked with in VHDs of Beta 3, the whole experience is pretty slick.

