Home > Visual Studio 2005, Visual Studio 2008, Windows Vista, Windows XP > Visual Studio 2008 "Consolas" Theme

Visual Studio 2008 "Consolas" Theme

November 16, 2007

A few readers have emailed in asking what my Visual Studio font was–and how I had my development environment setup based on the screen shots I’ve posted up.

I’m a big fan of the Consolas font for development.  Consolas is part of Office 2007 and Vista, so you can grab it from those packs.  To me, it’s clean and crisp while still being very easy to read hundreds of lines of code.  I blogged and have an example about the font and it’s history here.

Here’s a link to download the font without needing Office 2007 and Vista (it’s from Microsoft, so no theft involved as long as you’re putting it into use in Visual Studio).

Finally, here’s a link to my Visual Studio environment settings; to save you some time.  Right now, I have the font size set to 11 (I use a 24″ or 30″ wide screen monitor depending where I am, so a bit larger size.  Changing the size is pretty easy.

To import the settings, open up Visual Studio, go to Tools | Import and Export Settings…

 

  1. thecodeslinger
    November 20, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Thanks!

  2. Alex
    February 17, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    The following link is broken:

    http://www.tiredstudent.com/blog/files/Consolas_Clean.zip

    Please fix!
    Thanks!šŸ™‚

  3. February 25, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Sorry about that; fixed.šŸ™‚

  4. Dave
    March 13, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Thanks, it worked immediately! For some reason the font makes me realize I now need a second monitor for all the Windows VS requires.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
