Home > Everything Else, Politics, SharePoint 2007, Workplace > A change of pace at work…

A change of pace at work…

December 5, 2007

Rather than focus on creating custom solutions, we’re in the middle of a shift to SharePoint 2007–centric and external service providers as a means of application integration.  There are a few opportunities for custom development using MOSS as a platform; however, they’re few and far between right now.

These various transitions have dragged me away from my usual job of “creator of things that do stuff” and focused more on product evaluations, implementation strategies, project management, and systems architecture.  I enjoy these activities, but I miss geeky programming and find myself “sneaking” opportunites to code something up at work and spending a lot more time at home working on projects and such.  Lame, yes, I know.

Some of this is self-inflicted through my recent graduation and past work history (and success history)—as my superiors are trying to find more “high level” projects and goals for me to work towards.  I really appreciate those opportunities. 

It has, however, left me wondering.  Outside of giants like Microsoft where you can manager and a developer {or insert passion here}, is it possible to climb the corporate latter and retain some of your developer bits? 

I’m trying not work myself out of a job (I like my work environment and, most days, the people I work with), but I’m not sure I want to just push paper around all day if that’s what it means to “progress”—I love coding, designing, and creating “things that do stuff” too much to give it up cold turkey. :D

 

  1. December 8, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I can’t see myself ever not developing. I couldn’t handle it.

  2. December 8, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    They say, as you progress up the ladder, you move farther away from “work” and more into “meetings”… but I disagree–there’s got to be a point that you can manage AND work.😉 I’m bound to find it… or get fired… one of those.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
