Home > Final Fantasy XI, Gaming, Hardware and Software, Microsoft, Windows Vista > FFXI – Settings and Configuration in Vista

FFXI – Settings and Configuration in Vista

December 13, 2007

A few people have posted in response to other performance posts or emailed privately regarding my settings for FFXI and framerates.

Last night, I participated in my first Dynamis since rejoining FFXI.  Hella fun time and was nice to see over half the participants get some loot (and nice to get a clear since we couldn’t beat it back 3 years ago when I was playing).

Even in Dynamis-Jeuno, my FPS held around 24–25 (according to FRAPS)and I didn’t have any trouble seeing, targeting, etc.  I get the same FPS ratings in Jugner Forest [S] during campaign battles (I are addict to {Campaign battle}).

Here’s the relevant system specifications that I run under.  It’s a Dell 720H2C, so the details can be fetched from here.

  • Windows Vista x64 Ultimate
  • Intel Core 2 X6800 Extreme overclocked from 2.93GHz to 3.73GHz
  • 4GB RAM, 4GB ReadyBoost USB Drive
  • NVidia 680i SLI motherboard (15.08 drivers)
  • NVidia GeForce 8800 GTX (Dual, but the SLI is removed, I run one card per monitor for performance; 169.25 beta drivers)
  • 4x15k SATA RAID 0 (Performance stripe)

Here’s what my settings are, both in-game and registry:

In-Game

These settings are found under Menu | Config.

Misc.

  • On-screen damage display : Log
  • Shadows : Normal (meaning it shows mine)
  • Weather Effects : Off (I turn this off because it annoys me more than anything).
  • Character Models Displayed : Max (turning this down can make targeting mobs difficult in heavy traffic zones, I don’t see a FPS difference on it).

Misc. 2

  • Clipping Plane : Max (again, didn’t see a huge performance difference here).
  • Footstep Effects : Off (this is the little footprints you get when walking).
  • Animation Frame Rate : Max (turning it down seemed to reduce my FPS, not increase it).

Effects

  • I’ve turned off all Non-Party PC => effects; everything else is on so I can see effects to counter/stun them.

Registry / FFXI Config

General

  • Enable MIP Mapping is UNCHECKED.  Performance decreased down to about 15 FPS in my Mog House with it checked.

Screen Size

  • Overlay Graphics Resolution : 1920×1200
  • Background Resolution : 2048×2048 (applied through registry).

Textures

  • Texture Compression : Uncompressed
  • On-screen Maps : Uncompressed

Effects

  • Enable bump mapping is UNCHECKED.
  • Environmental Animation : Normal

Sound

  • Enable sound is CHECKED.
  • SoundEffectNum is max at 20.  Even at 20, I find times that sound fades in and out in Campaign battles because huge AEs occur and there are too many sounds.

Misc.

  • Enable hardware mouse cursor is CHECKED.  Huge look and feel benefit, no real performance difference.

So, with all that in mind, it’s important to remember that FFXI is an older game.  We know the frame rate is capped at 30 to keep in lengths with the PS2 version (I hope we bypass that soon) and SE, unfortunately, didn’t come through on pushing the platform up to DirectX 9 (We’re at 10 now in “the real world”) when they rolled out their horrid Windower rip-off.

If anyone has any other tips or tricks, please post them up.  All computers are pretty different, even the same models, due to software loaded, etc—(I found out a bit back that Microsoft Virtual PC was trashing my FFXI FPS for who knows why…).

 

  1. michael m urphy
    December 21, 2008 at 10:51 am | #1

    can you tell me exactly how you got ffxi running on x64 ultimate ed vista? i get a pol error saying that it is an unsupported os ; ;

    thanks for your help,
    Michael M.

    • December 21, 2008 at 11:16 am | #2

      @Michael-

      You must use the Vista POL client; it’s available on the PlayOnline website under Support/Vista.

  2. Dan
    February 19, 2009 at 11:24 am | #3

    My POL starts up and updates fine, but when I go to hit “Play” the viewer fades like it’s going to boot up FFXI, then it just goes back to POL like I logged off ><
    Help please.

  3. Ami
    May 22, 2009 at 10:14 am | #4

    I run into the same problem as Dan. Do you know what to do?

  4. Thom
    June 25, 2009 at 7:39 pm | #5

    did you try to dual box? as in 1 ffxi per monitor? hows the performance?

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

