Home > .net 3.5, AJAX, c#, JavaScript, Microsoft, Volta, WordPress > New Articles Section and AJAXing in .NET Article

New Articles Section and AJAXing in .NET Article

January 11, 2008

Last year, I had several requests to take my “longer” blog posts and series and make articles out of them.  I understand where readers are coming from and empathize—reading 4–5 posts that are 2–3 pages long across a week of entries can be… very disconnected.  In addition, code formatting, images, and such are difficult to get exactly right on a blog image (I tend to avoid capturing code in images so that it’s still searchable).

So, to that, I’ve added a new section to the blog, Articles.

In this, I’ll tend to focus on using the blog for short bits of information, key points, and summaries of various topics.  The Articles section will be for the longer, in-depth reviews of technologies, practices, and guides.

The first post in this section is from the recent AJAXing in .NET series

  1. January 11, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    PDF Articles? That’s some next-level blogging my friend.😉

  2. January 11, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    LOL, nah; it’s more of “omg I’m so frustrated with WordPress and trying to get exact typography of code snippets.”

    Plus, it makes a bit more sense–blog posts for little stuff, snippets, etc. and article PDFs for things like the AJAXing article that ended up being 17 pages with cover page and stuff. I’d rather the material be readable than just simply “there”.

  3. January 11, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Still cool.

  4. January 11, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Hah, thanks…🙂

  5. January 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    My method for posting code samples is crazy. Copy-and-paste into FreeTextBox (my entry screen) which adds paragraph tags for each line so I have to go to end-of-line, delete, SHIFT+ENTER, tab, tab, tab, rinse, wash, repeat.

    I might just start using C# Format instead and start using inline css so as to not break the pain and suffering I’ve endured over the last 3 years.

    C# Code Format

    … that or bite your posting style and start creating .PDF’s

  6. January 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    WordPress removes inline CSS… for the most part… it’s horrid and I can’t find a way to prevent it.

  7. January 13, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    That’s why I’m a roll-your-own kind of guy. You already knew that though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
