Home > SQL, Visual Studio 2008, Windows Server > Windows Server 2008 hits MSDN Downloads

Windows Server 2008 hits MSDN Downloads

February 7, 2008

Windows Server 2008The “heroes” campaign is fully underway with just 20 days left untilt he “official” release of Visual Studio 2008, SQL Server 2008, and Windows Server 2008.

I haven’t spent a lot of time with Server 2008 beyond messing with HyperV, but I was quite impressed.  Being the VM freak that I am, (basically) building Virtual Server into the operating system and beefing it up has huge appeal to me. 

For more information about Windows Server 2008, check out the MSFT Learning Portal.

If you’re a MSDN subscriber, the downloads are available in both the Top Subscriber Downloads and the standard (slow) MSDN library.  One thing to note, Windows Server 2008 has a different licensing scheme than previous operating systems—we’re limited (at first glance) to 1500 activations.  I can’t fathom NEEDING that many, but when I think of creating and blowing away virtual machines in our development lab, it makes me wonder…

 

