Home > General Development, Hardware and Software, Microsoft, Windows Server, Windows Vista, Windows XP > Adding Multiple System Monitors ala Perfmon

Adding Multiple System Monitors ala Perfmon

May 22, 2008

I use Perfmon a LOT. 

The logging and diagnostic software provided to us is, well, it’s just not that great.  Very slow to use and get around and every time I want a specific counter, I have to go ask for it because it’s someone’s “job” to add those. Ugh.  That’s no way to live.

Until now, I typically have a Perfmon console for each of my major application and SQL servers.  Why?  Because I was never smart enough to figure out how to add additional System Monitor controls into a single performance console.

Well, now I figured it out!

  • File > Add/Remove Snap-in
  • Click Add…
  • Select the ActiveX Control

ActiveX Control

  • A Wizard will start; scroll down and select System Monitor Control

System Monitor ActiveX Control

  • Give your new counter a name!
  • Repeat this until you’ve added your servers.  From there, configure each System Monitor control as needed.

Perfmon with all the servers!

From here, you can either add counters manually or use this brilliant PowerShell script.

