Home > .net 2.0, .net 3.0, .net 3.5, c#, LINQ, Visual Studio 2008 > ReSharper 4.0 – Cool Features

ReSharper 4.0 – Cool Features

June 13, 2008

There are quite a few new features to ReSharper 4.0 that are great, but it’s the little things that really can impress and speed up usage.  A few of my favorites are below.

camelHumps.🙂

ReSharper now supports Go To > and statement completion according to camel casing.  If you’re like me, you tend to write normal sentences in camel case—it’s just habit.

Using the camel casing, it picks up the variable I just created, not the class.

Lambda support.

I’ve become addicted to the simplicity of lambdas—they express intent and you can read them like sentences.  ReSharper 4 does an excellent job of digging into the anonymous type and pulling up IntelliSense information.

ResponseChoicesController()

.SelectOne(x =>

x.IsDefault &&

x.ResponseTypeId == responseTypeId)

From the ResponseChoicesController, select one that meets the requirements that IsDefault is true and ResponseTypeId is equal to the specified responseTypeId.  To me, and I’m sure I’m odd, that is easier to read than the “written” LINQ code.

Convert Static to Extension.

This is FANTASTIC for revamping existing code to take full advantage of the .NET 3.5 Framework.  I’ve been working on a project the past few weeks to migrate a .NET 2.0 project using Enterprise Library 3 up to 3.5 and LINQ-to-SQL and this addition has been fantastic to move data and business logic into controllers and the LINQ data context.

 

  1. June 13, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    IMHO, “Convert LINQ methods to Chain” is the G.O.A.T additions.

    I also like how if you are going to refactor “p” to “property” when enumerating property information via System.Reflection it doesn’t default to “camel_cased_version of property type you are reflecting in this case “propertyInfo” even though I typed “property””.

    Once you start typing your new variable name it let’s you behind the wheel.

    Does that make sense?

  2. June 15, 2008 at 10:07 am

    @Will-

    Yeah, the rename features are pretty slick. I haven’t dinked with the Convert LINQ refactor–I’ll need to play with that.😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
