Home > Everything Else, Insanity! > Bought a Home! The Epic

Bought a Home! The Epic

June 22, 2008

Over the next few days, I’ll be moving into my first home.  I’ve spent the past 6 months scowering the housing market and finally found one I really like.  Unlike most the country, homes in the midwest are going UP in price, so finding what I wanted (in what I could afford) was quite tricky. I’ll post up some pics over the next few days. So, time is tight and I probably won’t be posting much for the next couple of weeks. See you soon! As I do have access to the internet, I’ll be updating this post with news about the new place and photos (if/when I find my camera in the box it’s in).

UPDATE: noon, 26 June – Sellers are unable to meet the requirements of a new roof (my insurance won’t cover the highly hail damaged roof) by the closing deadline–if I can’t insure it, I can’t close on it.  No extensions apply–I fear that they’ll just keep dragging it out.  I let the agent know that the deal’s off.  We’ll work up the paperwork tomorrow when she’s in town.  Grr, guess back to the drawing boards.  Now to call EVERYONE back.

UPDATE: 11:30pm, 26 June – Sellers are now able to meet the requirements (*lots of shouting, angry feelings, angst*) and we’re going to closing tomorrow even though they said they can’t make it this afternoon.  I swear I’ve never felt more out of control or mislead in my life.  Come to find out that what is said means absolutely nothing and requires all parties to SIGN for it.  So, apparently we’re closing tomorrow afternoon.  Now to call EVERYONE back… AGAIN!

UPDATE: 12:00pm, 27 June – The insanity continues.  The closing time is now iffy because the title agency can’t get everything together by the 2:00pm closing time.  I’m frantically trying to get utilities back on since, due to the weekend and the Sunday possession date, I don’t want to walk into a hot, waterless house on Monday morning.

UPDATE: 9:45pm, 27 June – Well, everything is done and I have keys in my hand.  With what seemed like a hundred signatues, countless stacks of papers and agreements, and some awkward moments with all the shuffle of the past few days—it’s finally over.  We take possession midday Sunday.  If nothing else, this has been a wild ride.  Pictures and more coming soon.

UPDATE: 8:00am, 30 June – Well, a day of cleaning (and partial box moving yesterday) and things are taking shape.  Here’s a few photos that I’ll add to as we clean the house.  Click for full images.🙂

Front entry

Front entry with real hardwood floors.

Living rom

Living room with passthrough to kitchen, dutch door, and fireplace.

Skylights

Living room has old English framing and skylights.

Kitchen

Kitchen with eat-in dining area, bay window.

UPDATE: 11:15am, 3 July – Wow, what a rush of busy days.  Everything is moved, appliances are in, and the important things are setup and working—the computer (and internet), the new HD TV and tuner, and the coffee pot.

Categories: Everything Else, Insanity!
  1. June 24, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Congratulations! Home-ownership is fun/shitty/exciting/depressing/crazy/etc.. The fun never stops!

  2. June 30, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Congratulations! I bought my first house 4 years ago and it has been nothing short of awesome! It’s definitely more work than I thought, but totally worth it.
    Enjoy!

    Lee

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
