Home > Hardware and Software, Microsoft, Windows 7 > Fixing Streaming In Windows 7 (.asx Files)

Fixing Streaming In Windows 7 (.asx Files)

May 18, 2009

After tolerating the issue for all of the last beta and since installing RC, I decided to dedicate sometime into it this afternoon to research the cause and look for a fix.

The problem:

When attempting to play any .asx streaming playlist file, Windows would report that it could not locate the stream.

“Windows Media Player cannot play the file.  The Player might not support the file type or might not support the codec that was used to compress the file.”

WMP12 Streaming Error Image

The initial response (usually) to this is that the codec is missing or corrupted.  I think I tried almost every possible of codecs around–no dice.

The fix:

A bit of registry “checking” is in order.  There are four keys I updated:

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.avi]
@=”WMP11.AssocFile.AVI”

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.asf]
@=”WMP11.AssocFile.ASF”

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.asx]
@=”WMP11.AssocFile.ASX”

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.wmv]
@=”WMP11.AssocFile.WMV”

Note: The @= equates to the (Default) value.

Browse the web to a streaming source (I used Solo Piano Radio–calm, relaxing music while reading and such) and launch the streaming link.  It should work like a champ–like it has for years.

So far I’ve implemented this on three different computers with Windows 7–-so far, so good.

Resources:

According to the official Microsoft Windows 7 (Media) forums, it seems one of the Windows Live installers is to blame; however, if you catch the verbiage, they seem to relate it to another vendor.  I wonder if “vendor” without much more of a second thought. 

The fact that this issue survived to RC shocks me; however, all things considered—Win7 is still running like a champ.

  1. Ron
    July 18, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Vista cannot play these asx, asf files (from NASA for example) either. The Registry settings were the same as you listed. Any clues how to make them work in Vista. I have Vista 64.

    • July 23, 2009 at 7:46 am

      Honestly no. I never ran into these issues until Windows 7. I still have my laptop at Vista x64 specifically so I can stream music with it…

  2. peter
    September 12, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    windows7 x64 with wmp12 don’t work either. the settings are as you said.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
