Home > General Development, Hardware and Software, Microsoft, PowerShell, SQL, Windows 7, Windows Server > Automating Extracts Using External .SQL Files and PowerShell

Automating Extracts Using External .SQL Files and PowerShell

September 29, 2009

Rather than rely on a system task, I wanted to be able to kick off an export of one of our SQL databases on the fly, have it generate a CSV, then email the CSV to one of our developers.

Sounds like a task for PowerShell!

Why PowerShell? Well, frankly, because moving jobs around and such on our mixed-mash of SQL versions and servers is a bit annoying and I wanted to see if it worked.

So, to start off, I have a file, call it export_data.sql that contains all of the logic of my SQL query and the format I require.

I’ll also be using the Microsoft SQL query script I discussed in this blog post.

The tricky part is reading in the .sql file as a single “entity”—not the array of rows that get-content usually provides.  Thankfully, there is an easy way to do it.

@(gc ‘export_data.sql’ -readcount 0)

According to the PowerShell documentation, the readcount parameter serves two purposes: one is to set the number of lines to read at a time, the second (when set to zero) is to pull in all of the lines at once.  Great, that’s exactly what we need.

From there, it’s simply feeding our query to the sql-query function I wrote and exporting to CSV.  Nice enough, CSV exports are built-in to PowerShell!

The final command looks something like this:

@(gc ‘export_data.sql’ -readcount 0) | 
   % { sql-query server db $_ } |
   export-csv dump.csv

I could then add another field to mail the csv using the built-in command Send-MailMessage.

❤ PowerShell.

