Home > General Development, Microsoft, PowerShell, Windows 7, Workplace > PowerShell : TGIF Reminder

PowerShell : TGIF Reminder

November 6, 2009

Jeff Hicks’ TGIF post yesterday was a fun way to learn a bit of PowerShell (casting, working with dates, etc) and also add something valuable to your professional toolbelt—knowing when to go home.🙂

I tweaked the date output a bit to be more human readable, but also moved it from just a function to part of my UI.  I mean, I should ALWAYS know how close I am to quittin’ time, right? Especially as we joke around our office during our ‘payless weeks’.

# Determines if today is the end of friday! (fun function)
function get-tgif {
 $now=Get-Date
 # If it’s Saturday or Sunday then Stop! It’s the weekend!
 if ([int]$now.DayOfWeek -eq 6 -or [int]$now.DayOfWeek -eq 7)
 {
  “Weekend!”
 }
 else {
  # Determine when the next quittin’ time is…
  [datetime]$TGIF=”{0:MM/dd/yyyy} 4:30:00 PM” -f `
   (($now.AddDays( 5 – [int]$now.DayOfWeek)) )
  
  # Must be Friday, but after quittin’ time, GO HOME!
  if ((get-date) -ge $TGIF) {
   “TGIF has started without you!”
  }
  else {
   # Awww, still at work–how long until
   # it’s time to go to the pub?
   $diff = $($tgif – (get-date))
   “TGIF: $($diff.Days)d $($diff.Hours)h $($diff.Minutes)m”
  }
 }
}

NOTE: My “end time” is set to 4:30PM, not 5:00PM—since that’s when I escape.  Change as necessary.😉

The code comments explain most of it.  As you can see, I added in one more check—let me know when it’s simply the weekend.  I also removed the Write-Host calls, since I simply want to return a String from the function.  I could use the function, as necessary, with formatting, and add it to other scripts and such.  For example:

Write-Host $(get-tgif) -fore red

The next step was tapping into the $Host variable.  Since I use Console2, my PowerShell window is a tab rather than the whole window.  Console2 is aware of PowerShell’s $Host.UI methods and adheres to the changes.

To add get-tgif to my prompt’s window title:

$windowTitle = “(” + $(get-tgif) + “) “
$host.ui.rawui.WindowTitle = $windowTitle

Easy enough.  Now my window title looks like (ignore the path in there for now):

TGIF countdown in WindowTitle

But that only sets it when you log in… and I want to update it (and keep that path updated as I traverse through directories).  To do that add a function called ‘prompt’ to your PowerShell Profile.  Prompt is processed every time the “PS>” is generated and allows you a great deal of customization.  See the post here for further details on how I’ve customized my prompt to handle Git repositories.

So, move those two lines into our prompt function, and our TGIF timer now updates every time our prompt changes… keeping it pretty close to real time as you work.

function prompt {
 $windowTitle = “(” + $(get-tgif) + “) ” + $(get-location).ToString()
 $host.ui.rawui.WindowTitle = $windowTitle

[…]

}

This could be tweaked to any type of countdown.  I’m sure a few of those around the office would have fun adding retirement countdowns, etc.😉

Happy TGIF!

  1. November 6, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Great stuff. Certainly a lot of possible variations on a theme. The prompt and window title is terrific and will also work with the regular PowerShell window.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
