Home > .net 4.0, c#, PowerShell, Visual Studio 2008, Visual Studio 2010 > Getting buildNumber for TeamCity via AssemblyInfo

Getting buildNumber for TeamCity via AssemblyInfo

June 16, 2010

I’m a proud psake user and love the flexibility of PowerShell during my build process. I recently had a project that I really wanted the build number to show up in TeamCity rather than the standard incrementing number.

In the eternal words of Jeremy Clarkson, “How hard can it be?”

On my local machine, I have a spiffy “gav”–getassemblyversion–command that uses Reflection to grab the assembly version.  Unfortunately, since I don’t want to rely on the local version of .NET and I’ve already set the build number in AssemblyInfo.cs as part of my build process, I just want to fetch what’s in that file.

Regular expressions to the rescue!

Here’s the final psake task. I call it as part of my build/release tasks and it generates the right meta output that TeamCity needs for the build version. Here’s a gist of the source: http://gist.github.com/440646.

Here’s the actual source to review:

task GetBuildNumber { 
  $version = gc $base_directory\$solution_name\Properties\AssemblyInfo.cs | select-string -pattern "AssemblyVersion"
  
  $version -match '^\[assembly: AssemblyVersion\(\"(?<major>[0-9]+)\.(?<minor>[0-9]+)\.(?<revision>[0-9]+)\.(?<build>[0-9]+)\"\)\]'
  
  "##teamcity[buildNumber '{0}.{1}.{2}.{3}']" -f $matches["major"], $matches["minor"], $matches["revision"], $matches["build"]
}

Enjoy!

