Home > .net 3.5, .net 4.0, General Development, MVC, PowerShell > Quick Solution Generation using PowerShell: New-Project

Quick Solution Generation using PowerShell: New-Project

February 13, 2011

When I have an idea or want to prototype things, I tend to mock it up in Balsamiq, then dig right in and write some specs to see how it’d work.  Unfortunately deleting the junk Class1.cs in Library projects, the plethora of excess in MVC3 webs, and such tends to be the most time intensive part of wiring up a quick project in .net.

All that deleting is too many steps–especially if you’re developing on the fly with a room of folks. I needed something ala command line to fit my normal workflow:

  1. o init-wrap MyProject -git
  2. cd MyProject
  3. git flow init
  4. {something to create projects, solutions, etc}
  5. o init-wrap -all
  6. {spend 5 minutes cleaning up junk files in my way}

Introducing New-Project

Yes, I know. I’m not a marketing guru. I don’t have a cool name for it.  Just a standard PowerShell convention.

Usage:

  -Library { } : Takes a string[] of names for c# class libraries to create.

  -Web { } : Takes a string[] of names for MVC3 web projects to create.

  -Solution "" : Takes a single string for your solution name.

Example:

New-Project -Library MyProj.Core, MyProj.Specs -Web MyProj.Web -Solution MyProject

SiteScaffolding

 

What does this all do?

Well, honestly, I’m not sure how ‘reusable’ this is… the projects are pretty tailored.

Libraries

  • Libraries don’t have the annoying Class1.cs file that you always delete.
  • AssemblyInfo.cs is updated with the specified Name and Title.

MVC3 Webs

  • The web.config is STRIPPED down to the minimal (27 lines).
  • The folder structure is reorganized (removed unnecessary folders, like Controllers, which I put in libraries, not the web project).

Solution

  • This is the only one I’m actually using the VisualStudio.DTE for–it makes it super easy to create and add projects into the solution.

But there are other scaffolding systems out there–why not use them?

Most of the time, I don’t need a full system. I don’t need my objects mapped, views automatically set up, or anything else. 

Start with three empty projects, load up the Specifications project, and start driving out features.  That’s how it’s supposed to work, right?  So why would I want to have to pre-fill my projects ahead of time?

 

What’s next?

  • Error catching and handling (it’s pretty lax right now)
  • Handle setting up gitflow, openwrap, jQuery, etc. Less typing good!
  • Something… who knows.😀

 

Where to get it?

I’ve tossed it up on github at https://github.com/drlongnecker/New-Project.  Right now it has the WOMM warranty.

6a0120a85dcdae970b0128776ff992970c

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm
Comments are closed.
