Home > .net 4.0, c# > Workaround: Oracle, NHibernate, and CreateSQLQuery Not Working

Workaround: Oracle, NHibernate, and CreateSQLQuery Not Working

January 17, 2012

It’s difficult to sum this post up with a title. I started the morning adding (what I thought to be) a trivial feature to one of our shared repository libraries.

By the time I saw light at the end of the rabbit hole, I wasn’t sure what happened. This is the tale of my journey. All of the code is is guaranteed to work on my machine… usually.😉

I’ve done this before–how hard could it be?

The full source code is available via a gist.

The initial need

A simple need really: take a complex query and trim it down to a model using NHibernate’s Session.CreateSQLQuery and Transformers.AliasToBean<T>.

The problems

 

So far, the only data provider I’ve had these problems with is Oracle’s ODP: Oracle.DataAccess. I’m not sure if the built-in System.Data.OracleClient.

 

Problem #1 – Why is EVERYTHING IN CAPS?

The first oddness I ran into seemed to be caused by the IPropertyAccessor returning the properties in ALL CAPS. When it tried to match the aliases in the array, [FIRSTNAME] != [FirstName]. Well, that’s annoying.

Workaround: Add an additional PropertyInfo[] and fetch the properties myself.

This method ignores the aliases parameter in TransformTuple and relies on a call in the constructor to populate the Transformer’s properties.

public OracleSQLAliasToBeanTransformer(Type resultClass)
{
    // [snip!]
    // this is also a PERSONAL preference to only return fields that have a valid setter.
    _fields = this._resultClass.GetProperties(Flags)
                   .Where(x => x.GetSetMethod() != null).ToArray();
}

Inside TransformTuple, I then call on _fields rather than the aliases constructor parameter.

var fieldNames = _fields.Select(x => x.Name).ToList();

// [big snip!]

setters = new ISetter[fieldNames.Count];
for (var i = 0; i < fieldNames.Count; i++)
{
    var fieldName = fieldNames[i];
    _setters[i] = _propertyAccessor.GetSetter(_resultClass, fieldName);
}

Problem solved. Everything is proper case.

Bold assumption: I’m guessing this is coming back in as upper case because Oracle, by default, stores and retrieves everything as upper case unless it’s surrounded by quotes (which has it’s own disadvantages).

Problem #2 – Why are my ints coming in as decimals and strings as char[]?

This one I’m taking a wild guess. I found a similar issue for Hibernate (Java daddy of NHibernate), but didn’t see a matching NHibernate issue. It seems that the types coming in are correct, but the tuple data types are wrong.

For example, if an object as a integer 0 value, it returns as 0M and implicitly converts to decimal.

Workaround: Use System.Convert.ChangeType(obj, T)

If I used this on every piece of code, I’d feel more guilty than I do; however, on edge cases where the standard AliasToBeanTransformer won’t work, I chalk it up to part of doing business with Oracle.

Inside the TransformTuple method, I iterate over the fields and recast each tuple member accordingly.  The only caveat is that I’m separating out enums and specifically casting them as int32. YMMV.


var fieldNames = _fields.Select(x => x.Name).ToList();
for (var i = 0; i < fieldNames.Count; i++)
{
    var fieldType = _fields[i].PropertyType;
    if (fieldType.IsEnum)
    {
        // It can't seem to handle enums, so convert them
	// to Int (so the enum will work)
	tuple[i] = Convert.ChangeType(tuple[i], TypeCode.Int32);
    }
    else
    {
        // set it to the actual field type on the property we're
	// filling.
	tuple[i] = Convert.ChangeType(tuple[i], fieldType);
    }
}

At this point, everything is recast to match the Type of the incoming property. When all is said and done, adding a bit of exception handling around this is recommended (though, I’m not sure when a non-expected error might pop here).

Problem solved. Our _setters[i].Set() can now populate our transformation and return it to the client.

Summary

Lessons learned? Like Mr. Clarkson usually discovers, when it sounds easy, it means you’ll usually end up on fire. Keep fire extinguishers handy at all times.

Is there another way to do this? Probably. I could probably create a throwaway DTO with all capital letters then use AutoMapper or such to map it to the properly-cased objects. That, honestly, seems more mindnumbing than this (though perhaps less voodoo).

Categories: .net 4.0, c# Tags: , , , ,
