Home > Hardware and Software, Windows Vista > HOWTO: PagePro 1350W on x64 Vista?

HOWTO: PagePro 1350W on x64 Vista?

March 11, 2007

The last “issue” with x64 Vista has been getting my Konika Minolta PagePro 1350W laser printer to work.  My HP PhotoSmart C5180n works like a CHAMP in x64.  Vista detects the IP, installs the new drivers, and we’re good to go.  The 1350W, my workhorse printer, just sits there.

Now, I’m sure I would have caught this earlier if, well, I ran the Vista Readiness Analyzer or something, but… heh, what’s the fun in that?  According to Konica Minolta’s web site, Vista will have a x86 driver, but there has never and will never be a x64 bit driver.  Well, that’s pretty poor.

Here’s how I worked around it:

  1. If you have another x86 machine, which I do (Win XP SP2), install the printer on that machine using the correct x86 printer drivers.
  2. Network share that printer out, ex: \devserver1\PagePro1350
  3. On the x64 Vista machine, download the Windows XP x64 PagePro 1400W printer drivers.  Extract them to a directory you can get to.
  4. Add a new printer (as administrator).  Assign it to the FILE: port for now, but associate the 1400W printer driver to it.
  5. Go into the printer’s properties (as administrator), Ports tab.
  6. Click the ‘Add Port…’ button.  Add a Local Port and for the path, put in the UNC path from step #2 above.
  7. UNCHECK ‘Enable bidirectional support’.  This doesn’t appear to work with that checked.
  8. Click Apply.
  9. Print a test page.  W00t.

I’d also assume you could use Virtual PC 2007, Virtual Server 2005 R2, or some other virtualization technology to “recreate” a x86 machine (if you do not have a spare computer)… but, I haven’t tested that.

Ttchnorati Tags: , , ,

  1. Starpsh
    March 24, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    I had the same problem w/ Vista on AMD X64 dual core. I actually don’t have two computers, but I was able to use the drivers from Windows Update w/ a slight modification:

    1) Go to the Ports page of the printer’s properties window.
    2) Select the “USB001- Virtual Printer Port for USB”
    3) Disable bi-directional support

    Then the printer magically printed a test page. Go figure!?

  2. March 24, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Hmm, I couldn’t get any drivers from Windows Update to recognize the 1350… that were x64 at least. Everything I tried said it was the wrong platform. =/

  3. BleuBleu
    May 6, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    I had a similar problem while trying to connect my PC (Vista) to a networked 1400W (XP SP2). When you connect to the networked printer, the drivers are automatically downloaded and for some reason it wasnt working.

    I did the same trick (install the vista drivers to FILE:) and then change the port and it worked. Thanks!

  4. TOM
    August 2, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Yes, Definetely. Preinstall the driver AND MAKE SURE THE BI-DIRECTIONAL SUPPORT IS OFF and… restart the computer. The printer should work after that. Mine did…

  5. Serge
    August 12, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Work very well for me too.
    It is absolutely the bi-directionnal support that is the problem.
    Thanks for this precious advice !

  6. AZGrunge
    August 18, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Starpsh, worked like a charm. Thanks

  7. Buzz
    September 12, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Wow.. works like a charm! Thanks a lot for this nice trick!

  8. Chuck Wallace
    December 1, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Many thanks to all, esp. Ramblings of the Sleepy… and Starpsh. With your advice I got my 1350W to wake up and fly right.

  9. Myrna
    December 3, 2007 at 2:13 am

    I used the same method posted by starpsh…. Go figure?

    1) Go to the Ports page of the printer’s properties window.
    2) Select the “USB001- Virtual Printer Port for USB”
    3) Disable bi-directional support

    Then the printer magically printed a test page. Go figure!?

  10. ivan
    January 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

    but by this trick, you have to have both computers switched on??

  11. January 22, 2008 at 10:45 am

    @Ivan – Yeah. Since I posted this, I’ve actually replaced the printer with a networked HP 2015x. I haven’t tired it, but I think Myrna has a better answer–instead of using the print server, the answer simply lied in bi-directional printing. See Myrna’s comment above.

  12. Paul
    February 11, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    I don’t have a “USB001- Virtual Printer Port for USB” listed in the ports tab.

    How do I add one?

  13. February 12, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    @Paul-

    Is the printer turned on and USB active on your machine (e.g. do other USB devices work)?

  14. Superbuddha
    May 8, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Two thumbs up for Starsph who posted the simple solution. I don’t have to have the printer networked to another XP computer. I just followed the three steps and the printer started as if by magic. The sound of the printer starting when test page command was sent was the most melodic sound I’ve heard after struggking for months with the driver problem and waiting vainly for Minolta to provide a driver. Thanks a million.

  15. Bannor
    May 26, 2008 at 9:59 am

    But with Starpsh method, what drivers do you install on Vista?

  16. May 26, 2008 at 10:19 am

    I believe the drivers from Windows Update (as Starpsh mentioned) or the x64 drivers for Windows XP from the Konika web site work. I unfortunately can’t test this–I haven’t had my PagePro 1350w for several months now.

  17. Bannor
    May 26, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Since there are no 64 bit drivers for 1350W, I tried 1400W drivers but it still didn’t work…

  18. Clan
    June 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    I’m still confused about which driver I’m supposed to use? Please help.

  19. June 5, 2008 at 6:46 am

    @Bannor-

    Unfortunately, since I don’t own this printer anymore, there’s nothing else I can provide. At the time of writing it (over a year ago), the 1400W drivers (http://onyxftp.mykonicaminolta.com/download/SearchResults.aspx?productname=PagePro%201400W) worked like a champ.

  20. stroths
    June 29, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I got mine working using the networked/share method posted. However, I could not get it working on a single PC like some posted success on.

    I tried it on Vista SP1 x64 and XP64 with no success. Until I upgrade my printer, I will stick to the networked method since it works.

    Thanks for posting this.

  21. July 30, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    YES! Worked (second time after some tinkering) but man – you are a life saver! THanks SO much for the tip!

  22. GODzillaSDM
    August 13, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I just installed vista x64, and realized the 1350w has no drivers for it. I do NOT see the windows update driver for this printer. I tried to install the 1400w but it does not work, even after changing it to usb1 & bi-d off.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Please tell me which drivers did you use! Be specific.

    Also, did it work on your 32bit Vista, or 64bit?

    Thanks a bunch!

  23. GODzillaSDM
    August 13, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Also, i just downloaded and tried using Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, but it does NOT support USB! 😦 therefore it will not work.

  24. Jusepe
    August 14, 2008 at 10:20 am

    i tray it on win xp x64, i have another x86 machine, but i can’t select button Add Port. Log as admin.
    All 3 buttons are nopick, “Enable bidirectional support” i have uncheck. Where is problem?

  25. September 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Hi,

    I have my 1350w on a windows xp machine.

    My laptop has vista 64 bit. I want to use my LAN to print from my laptop to my printer.

    Can this work?
    Which computer (laptop or xp machine) do I need to install the drivers?

    Thanks!
    Juggernaut

  26. September 5, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Hi again.
    I finally realized that the original instructions were actually the exact situation that I am facing – sorry for being so slow.

    I followed the directions and now it is printing perfectly!

    Thank you!
    Juggernaut

  27. Chet_C
    October 3, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks, works a charm!
    You’re a LIFESAVER!!!

  28. omid
    November 10, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    The computer used to network share the printer, can it be laptop which is then disconnected? Or does it have to stay connected?

  29. November 12, 2008 at 8:53 am

    @Omid-

    Must stay connected; however, as others have mentioned in the comments, the new Konika drivers work with:

    UNCHECK ‘Enable bidirectional support’. This doesn’t appear to work with that checked.

    Networking shouldn’t be needed anymore. Unfortunately, I haven’t had this printer for a year or so and cannot verify this.

  30. bla
    November 20, 2008 at 11:48 am

    A lot of thanks, now i can print through the network with xp64.

    I dont run the installer, only “add printer” in “Printers and faxes”, select the printer in the network, then “I have disk”> browse the unzipped folder (the driver will be selected automaticaly, in my case “MXP64__Y.inf”). Press “ok” and thats all.

    Bye

  31. bla
    November 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    A lot of thanks, now i can print through the network with xp64.

    I dont run the installer, only “add printer” in “Printers and faxes”, select the printer in the network, then “I have disk”> browse the unzipped folder (the driver will be selected automaticaly, in my case “MXP64__Y.inf”). Press “ok” and thats all.

    Bye

  32. Alice
    November 21, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks Starpsh! I download 1350w driver for windowXP, install it choosing USB port, then follow your instruction:

    1) Go to the Ports page of the printer’s properties window.
    2) Select the “USB001- Virtual Printer Port for USB”
    3) Disable bi-directional support

    It works! Thanks again!

  1. November 10, 2008 at 1:23 pm
Comments are closed.